Diamonds and Ice


A $75,000 baseball card
February 16, 2009, 9:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Yes, seriously.

A 72-year-old woman from California garnered $75,285, to be exact, for an 1869 Peck & Snyder Cincinnati Red Stockings advertising card. It’s considered to be one of the first baseball cards ever made.

Bernice Gallego is an antique dealer who found the card in her basement. She asked $10 for it originally on Ebay last summer. Before it could be sold, she was tipped off how rare the card was and eventually had a company auction it for her. She made an appearance with Jay Leno on The Tonight Show a couple of weeks ago.

96 bids were made for the card, with TRISTAR Productions President and CEO Jeff Rosenberg making the winning bid. TRISTAR makes baseball cards.

“Bought it for my collection,” Rosenberg told Beckett.com via e-mail. “However, in the past we have given away items from the collection including T206 Wagner, Babe Ruth Rookie, etc. ”

The moral of this story? Don’t throw away any of your baseball cards, kids.

Let me know your most valuable baseball/football/basketball card. As a collector, I’m interested in knowing.

baseball-card

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I recently picked up a 1910 Piedmont T206 Roger Bresnahan card. It’s near and dear to my heart.

Comment by Ian

I have an autographed 2003 Tommy Duenas Kernels card…

And one from 2004…

And one from 2005.

Comment by Jorge Vino

Valuable or most treasured?
My most valuable card is a Michael Jordan Fleer rookie card (I’ve gotta get it graded).
Most treasured? That’s tough; probably my signed Brooks Robinson 1962 Post cereal card. It’s not worth much, just that I had some time with one of my all-time heroes.

Comment by pud'nhead

Signed Reggie Jackson card is my most memorable.
I have no idea what amongst the 60’s and 70’s cards I have is most valuable.

Comment by Mike Coleman




Leave a Reply

