Diamonds and Ice

No Kernels on MWL postseason all-star team
August 26, 2008, 9:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s not a big surprise, but no Cedar Rapids Kernels were named to the Midwest League’s postseason all-star team. The team was announced Tuesday.

Outfielder Ben Revere of the Beloit Snappers was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and Prospect of the Year. Revere hit .400 most of the season but has settled near the .380 mark as the regular season winds down to its final week.

Joining Revere on the postseason all-star team were outfielders Larry Cobb (Kane County) and Evan Frey (South Bend), catcher Sean Coughlin (South Bend), first baseman Mitch Moreland (Clinton), third baseman Brandon Waring (Dayton), shortstop Zach Cozart (Dayton), infielder Andrew Lambo (Great Lakes) and designated hitter Ian Gac (Clinton).

The all-star pitchers were West Michigan’s Alfredo Figaro (right-handed starter) and Jonathan Kibler (left-handed starter), Fort Wayne’s Jackson Quezada (right-handed reliever) and Lansing’s Edgar Estanga (left-handed reliever). South Bend’s Mark Haley won the league’s Manager of the Year award.

Five teams were not represented on the postseason all-star team: Cedar Rapids, Burlington, Quad Cities, Peoria and Wisconsin.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: